top of page
Search

King David - Remaining Faithful

Updated: Jan 26, 2018




Have you ever wondered why, out of all the great leaders of faith, God singled out David as a man after His heart?  (1 Samuel 13:14). In Acts 12:22, Luke writes, “And when [God] had removed [Saul], he raised up David to be their (Israel) king, of whom he testified and said, ‘I have found in David the son of Jesse a man after my heart, who will do all my will.’” Did you catch that? God says that David was a man after His own heart because David obeyed Him. It pleased God when David obeyed Him.  It pleases God when we obey Him! 


But wait!  What about David's sin of adultery and murder?  Surely God was not pleased with that? Why would God bless such a person? Despite David's great failures, God still loved him and had great plans for him. Despite our failures, God still loves us too. We must remain faithful!  


While David was not perfect, he had an amazing faith in God and desire to see God glorified above all else. David's words give us a glimpse into his heart. David writes, “Blessed be the Lord, the God of Israel, who alone does wondrous things. Blessed be His glorious name forever; may the whole earth be filled with His glory! Amen and Amen” (Psalm 72:18-20). 


In Psalm 119, David also writes: 


33 Teach me, O Lord, the way of your statutes; and I will keep it to the end.[f] 34 Give me understanding, that I may keep your law and observe it with my whole heart. 35 Lead me in the path of your commandments, for I delight in it. 36 Incline my heart to your testimonies, and not to selfish gain! 37 Turn my eyes from looking at worthless things; and give me life in your ways. 38 Confirm to your servant your promise, that you may be feared. 39 Turn away the reproach that I dread, for your rules are good. 40 Behold, I long for your precepts; in your righteousness give me life!

Notice above David's acknowledgment of dependence upon God. Note also verse 34. When you do something with “all your heart,” it means that you are doing it with passion and focus. David obeyed with passion. Obedience for obedience’s sake is different from obedience out of love. Jesus shared, “If you love me, you will keep my commandments” (John 14:15). 


David had a love for God and a desire to glorify Him.  May we have that same passion! 


Join me in the coming weeks as we unpack these truths by examining one of David's most famous psalms -- Psalm 23.


Blessings!! 

34 views0 comments

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page