top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJeff

I will fear no evil, for you are with me

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me.



David knew about death and destruction. The children of Israel were surrounded by hostile neighbors and were frequently being attacked. David was constantly having to defend his people and homeland. Death was potentially just one battle away, but David and Israel prevailed during his lifetime.


David also knew from firsthand experience all about the difficulties and dangers, as well as the delights, of treks through the high country. But every mountain has its valleys. As with ordinary sheep management, so with God’s people, one only gains higher ground by walking or climbing through valleys. There are going to be valleys in life for all of us. The Good Shepherd, Jesus, assured us that “In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world,” (John 16:33).


The question is not how many valleys we walk through. It is not whether those valleys are dark or dim with shadows. The question is how we go through them? How do we cope with the calamities that come our way? With Christ, the Christian can face them calmly. With His gracious spirit, we face them confidently. The child of God is comforted and empowered when he or she discovers that there is, even in the dark valley, a source of strength and courage to be found in our sovereign God. It is when we can look back over life and see how the Shepherd’s hand has guided and sustained us in the darkest hours that renewed faith is cherished.


Nothing stimulates my faith in the Heavenly Father more as to look back and reflect on His faithfulness to me and my loved ones in every crisis and difficult circumstance in life. Over and over, He has proven His care and delight in me. Again and again, I have witnessed the Good Shepherd’s guidance through dark days and deep valleys. Storms may break about me, predators may attack, rivers may engulf me, but because He is with me, I will not fear.

14 views0 comments

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page